Warrior Protection
EU Hydraxian Waterlords
donator Posts: 1325
Orc
Warrior

I wanted to post an update for you guys: it’s about me and just to let you guys know what’s going on in RL. Not a Classic related post but hope you all don’t mind if I post it here.

I’m finally disembarking my vessel in Melbourne, Australia in a few days. We have sailed all the way from Denmark - something like 15,000 sea miles - and it has taken 2 months and a week to get here. For those who don’t know I’m a trainee navigation officer working on a subsea construction vessel.

It has been an exhausting trip but also an amazing adventure - we went through the North Sea, English channel, the Med, Suez Canal, luckily didn’t get boarded by pirates off Somalia, across the Indian Ocean to Sri Lanka, on to Singapore, past Bali and around the coast of Aus - we’re on the last leg now in the Bass Strait and I’m nearly homeward bound.

We met with no storms but our centre azimuth thruster broke in the middle of the I ocean which meant a drydock in Singapore for a week whilst we made emergency repairs. I crossed the line and had my ‘ceremony’ and now am no longer a Pollywog but a Trusty Shellback :smile:

During the voyage I spent all my free time working on barrens.chat and enjoying seeing the forums grow. I even deployed patches 1.2, 3, and 4 over the ship’s satellite internet in quite literally the middle of nowhere haha! 1.2 was in the Med, 1.3 in the Indian Ocean and 1.4 in the Java sea.

I’m really looking forward to being home now for xmas with my family and to enjoy some time off from everything. Wishing all of you a merry christmas and a happy new year, and welcome to all the people who joined over the last month - the posting quality here has been immense and I wanted to say thank you to everyone who has been contributing to the site as a whole. You guys fucking rock!!

So bring on 2019 and here’s to more Classic news, our awesome community, and of course summer release!

Your boi,
teebling