Ashenvale
US Myzrael
donator Posts: 9
Dwarf
Paladin
4 years ago (1.13.2)
 •  Unread

Hey everyone. I played vanilla in 2005 but I was shit at video games and had no idea about any of the deeper mechanics of the game, never did any dungeons, etc. So for all intents and purposes I'm a noob.

As I've inched closer to 40 and started doing Scarlet Monastery runs I'll be LFG and get messages telling stuff like "give up, you're shitty DPS, no point" etc. etc. I guess I'm kinda second-guessing my choice of spec and wanted some advice from the pros. While looking for a list of BIS gear for my level I've come across a lot of people essentially saying I'm SOL for getting into any proper raids or guilds who are serious about raiding. I want to do end-game content and have fun, but it sounds like I'm going to have a hard time getting into any groups. I've been following a guide on Wowhead for retribution paladins, but it seems like I'll be more viable for higher level dungeons, end-game content, raids, etc. if I respec to holy?

tl;dr some questions:

• Will I have a hard time finding groups as retribution/DPS for dungeons from 40-60?
  • If I re-spec to holy/healing at 60, will I be able to do raids and end-game content?
  • Should I just surrender my paladin and roll a new character with a more viable class?
ty :)

Badlands
EU Flamelash
donator Posts: 367
Horde
Shaman
4 years ago (1.13.2)
 •  Unread

@halot

If you are looking to get to 60 as fast as possible.

- Yes.
- Yes.
- No. Play what makes you happy. Playing the less popular specs of the paladin will require more effort once you get to level 60 for players to recognise.

Image    Image    Image
Blasted Lands
donator Posts: 31
Dwarf
Paladin
4 years ago (1.13.2)
 •  Unread

Level up to level 53 as ret, then respec holy. You should be able to AH most of the initial healing gear you need.
Then you will have plenty of time to gear up holy while dungeon grinding.